daycare and lows and tempting gluten

There’s no school today being that tomorrow’s Thanksgiving.  BUT, I did have to work this afternoon.  Only for about an hour and a half.  Twice a week the boys go to afterschool care on campus.  On holidays, kids from 3 schools all come there along with the counselors that work at those schools.  We got there, signed in, looked around and realized they were all counselors from other schools.  I asked where our normal ones were.  “They were only here until noon today.”  Crap.  That means I’m already later for work and now I’m leaving my kids with people who don’t even know C has diabetes, don’t know the “rules” of how to take care of that situation, don’t know where they keep his box of extra carbs/meter/etc, and don’t know what “glucagon kit” means…
It was super scary leaving him, but figured it wouldn’t be very long and he plays in the neighborhood with his friends all the time with no adults.  He can handle a situation and get a hold of me when there’s a problem.
When I picked him up they told me he went low and told them he couldn’t even test he was so low.  He took his carbs and waited 15 minutes.  At that point he was 90.  The counselor had him wait another 5 minutes and test again to be sure it was still going up.  At least I like her just-in-case thought process…
So, after that, they had to sit down while they got snack ready.  I got there as the last people were being called to get theirs.  C walked over to me and the other lady yelled to him not to forget his SMORES….  BUMMER!!  Poor kid got to sit and watch 50 other kids eating their smores.  We had to wait for E to finish his.  C went outside and I asked if he was alright.  He just didn’t want to see them eat anymore because it was hard for him to not get any.  I said that we could look for GF graham crackers and he cut me off.  “I don’t need them, they just looked good.”
Rough day.  I guess it prepares you for a rough life though?

Leave a Reply

