lessons taught… by sleepless me

I’m averaging 3-4 phone calls from C a day from school telling me every reason under the sun why he’s not feeling well and needs to come home. I work, mind you.  And my work gave me more hours back two weeks ago. So far I have not been able to work these extra hours due to my children’s Dr.’s appts, sicknesses, Spring Break and crazy phone calls from the Health Office at school.  It’s getting old.  These are the times I wish we were a two-parent household so that somebody else could deal with at least half of the shenanigans.
This morning I heard, “Mom, I don’t feel good.”
My response… “Me either.  Just like you, I feel like crap every single morning. But every morning I get up, get dressed, go to work and get on with my day even though I don’t want to.  You feel like this every day, you don’t have to tell me anymore. You don’t even have to call me from school anymore to tell me.  When I’m at work, I know that you likely are feeling like crap at school.  If you absolutely need me, call.  Otherwise, I’m out of ideas for you.”
And Mom of the Year goes to….

Leave a Reply

