Low? yep.

What’s up with not feeling lows? When C was diagnosed he’d consistently feel them in the 90s, 80s, sometimes 70s. Once in a blue moon he’d go lower and it made us panic. His rule at school is if he’s under 60 he needs to call me so I’m aware. He’s been calling me way more that normal.
About a week or so ago he came in my room and said he “might” be low. I think he was 35. A few day later was on the trampoline and his brother ran inside yelling that he was low. 38. Last week he called from school at 40.
Last night he comes in my room, “I think I’m dropping low. Even if the meter says 100, I think I’m dropping fast so I should probably treat it.” 37.

It’s stressful for both of us. He understands clearly that not feeling it until that point is a big big problem. I understand clearly why I don’t want him leaving my side and why it’s so damn hard to let him run around the neighborhood with friends.
Is it normal to lose the awareness of a low? Is he getting “used to” lows and now not catching them until later or what?

3 Responses

  1. Hi Emily! Hypoglycemia unawareness is incredibly common in people with type 1 diabetes. Some people who have had the disease long enough don’t even feel different at 37! (more info: http://www.diabetes.org/living-with-diabetes/treatment-and-care/blood-glucose-control/hypoglycemia-low-blood.html and here: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/Articles/Diabetes-Definitions/hypoglycemia_unawareness/).

    Unfortunately I don’t have much in the way of suggestions for you, rather than to get him on a continuous glucose monitor (I use the Dexcom 7 Plus). This will help by giving a warning vibration and beep when blood sugar is dropping.

    Hope that helped! Hypo unawareness is a huge issue in diabetes and there’s research being done on it as we speak! So it’s bad news, but hopeful. Be sure to bring it up to his endo!

    • Thanks for the links!
      I’ve spoken to his Dr and looked into CGM and definitely want Dexcom, but his insurance is absolutely not covering it at this time. I can’t cover the cost on my own, but am going to keep checking in. As soon as ins covers, we’re going for it! If it were up to him, he’d skip it and just get a diabetic alert dog. That’s his dream 🙂

  2. I have been dealing with Hypounawareness too….it is really scary…apparently it’s that if you have a lot of lows your body gets used to it…kinda like when I’ve been in range for a while I can already feel high at 180….if I’ve been running high for a week I feel perfectly fine at 280. it plain out stinks! Here’s to hoping that he’ll regain his hypoawareness soon!

Leave a Reply

