D-Sib Day

Well, Alexis and Sherry have proclaimed today to be Siblings of Diabetes Day.  I figured I’d write about E, but have been so busy it hasn’t gotten done.  I’ve hardly even been on a computer.  Good thing is, it hasn’t been because of diabetes.  I’ve been working, playing with the kids, eating Thanksgiving dinner, going out, you know… living?

Anyways, it’s today and it’s 10:30am right now.  My little E is still snoozing.  In  MY bed.  I cleaned up his mess that he’s scattered all over my living room this morning while he was nice and cozy.  I guess I’ll call that his special treatment today?  Poor kid.  Honestly, we don’t celebrate much around here though.  There’s too much always going on to add in any extra.  We celebrate Christmas, but everything else is pretty minimal.

My sweetie really is, just like most siblings thrown into this life, an amazing supporter of his brother.  He makes it near impossible for C to feel alone.  E loves to test.  Under 100?  You’d better believe he’s going to call it low and demand some candy…  E always checks to be sure foods are gluten-free.  There are a few things in our house that aren’t.  If E has those, he’s always sure to eat on a placemat on the far end of the bar to make sure crumbs are kept under control.  He likes to know how many carbs he’s eating.  Sometimes I realize he also suffers from ‘diabetes-brain’ when he notices things that remind him of a test strip, or a blue circle, or a glucose tab, or mentions what number he thinks a lancet would have to be on if his little cousin had to test

On the trampoline, when suddenly C lays down and can’t get off, E’s extra loud voice is heard screaming for me as he runs inside to get a juice box.  E has a pack on his bike that he keeps a roll of glucose tabs in just in case.

After our pump trainer left last January, E was the first to get excited enough to stick an infusion set on (not inject though) and wear that pump for the next hour or so.  E tells everyone he meets about diabetes and celiac disease.  Like everyone else’s ‘other’ children, he knows all the science, real words and possibly every fact that I know about them both and always surprises people with his knowledge.  It warms and breaks my heart at the same time.  Sometimes, when C wants to go somewhere without me, I feel fine about it as long as E is there.  I know that in an emergency E would know exactly what to do or how to explain the situation to someone who could help.

Because we’re a part of a local group that tries to get together monthly and most of the kids are much younger than C, E actually has a number of good friends living with diabetes as well.  Some have it themselves, some have a sibling with it and some have a parent with it.  It’s all very normal to him.

No, we’re not going to do much celebrating, but E is always told how proud I am of him being so supportive.  C is often reminded how lucky he is to have E on his side and even though it’s not that often that he shows it, I know he’s thankful for him.

4 Responses

  1. Dear Ethan,
    WOW! You’re mommy told us how amazing you are! I know it must be hard to watch your best friend dealing with the hard stuff that diabetes throws at him. Just know that you’re doing a great job! I love the picture your mommy posted 🙂 Enjoy those Thanksgiving leftovers and remember how special you are.
    Much Love,
    The Rose Family

  2. love the nose picking pic. He sounds amazing! How blessed you are girly. You have a outstanding kids!

  3. Ethan, buddy, WAY TO GO! You’re a great brother to have. Emily, that doesn’t happen by accident. Youre doing great. Be encouraged…
    -t

  4. What an amazing brother! It warms my heart to read this…somehow brothers always have the most awesome bonds!

    And the picture is priceless!

Leave a Reply

