highs, lows and nights

Highs, lows and nights.  I hate ’em all.  I also hate making changes to C’s pump.  It’s just never simple.  I love when the doctor does it. 

This time, she was content with his numbers and only wanted to try to change his carb ratios slightly and one of his overnights.  I didn’t agree.  I thought his overnight change was too much and his daytimes definitely needed a change.  Anyways, night (12am-4am) went from 0.55/hr to .60/hr.  When I got home, I compromised and put it at .575/hr.

He woke up the next morning at 58.  I’d actually turned it DOWN to .55 from .575 about 2 weeks ago when he woke up at 45.  Needless to say he’s back at .55 but we need some normal nights to see if that’s even working.  Normal meaning I’m rested enough to actually wake up to my middle of the night alarms and check.  oops.

The other problem is he’s going really high around lunch time.  He was being sent home over 400 a few weeks ago, I made some changes and now he’s typically in the 200s.  I didn’t know what to do next because about 1/4 of the time, he’s low at the same times.  Doctor didn’t want to change either.  Ughhhh.  Soooo, I changed them again realizing I had the weekend to see if he went low or not.  So the breakdown is this.  Same night basal. First thing in the morning (4a-8a) it’s higher, mid-morning (8a-11a) is higher, lunch and dinner get more per carb.  I had my fingers crossed yesterday that he wouldn’t go too low, too many times.  I warned him to keep checking because he doesn’t feel many lows lately until they’re about 50.

We kept checking the last being 3pm and things were actually still highish, but nothing crazy.  5 pm he made some scrambled eggs for dinner and tested at 560.  HUH?!  Washed hands and tested 2 more times.  522 and 502.  Fuuuuuck.

Corrected (more than I’m ever comfortable giving), changed cartridge/site (was due for change anyways), retested in an hour, still over 400, corrected again.  Took shower, tested, corrected again.  At this point it’s coming up on bedtime and I told him, “I gave you an awful lot of insulin.  I’m afraid you might go low tonight, want to sleep in my room?”  He didn’t…  So I told him to double-check there was juice on his nightstand and remember to use his doorbell  (which has only been used once) if needed and set lots and lots of alarms hoping at least a couple might get me up.

About a minute later, E runs in very excited and says, “I get to sleep in C’s room tonight!” and runs out.  I wonder if C actually thought it out and decided he was safest having someone with him or if he invited him subconsciously.  Either way, if he doesn’t want to stay in mom’s room, I’m glad he’s got someone to keep him feeling more comfortable.

One Response

  1. That is so incredibly sweet!!!

    Sorry about the bgs though. Hope today was better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

