Night Lows

C has not woken up from a low yet.  It’s been about a year and a half and it worries me.  I have checked him in his sleep in the 50s, the 40s a handful of times and once at 32.  Just sleeping peacefully as though there are no problems.  Everyone tells me he’ll wake himself when he’s low, but really… HOW low??

A few nights ago I checked him at 3am and his number was 82.  He hadn’t had a lot of exercise and there was no insulin on board.  I woke him but he didn’t want juice and asked that I just do it with his pump.  I dropped it to -50% basal for 2 hours.  I normally would’ve done an hour tops, but I wasn’t sure I’d be able to wake up again.

In the morning I went in to check him and saw the juice box on his nightstand had the straw in it.  The wrapper was right next to him.  Panic set in and I tested him…302.  Once he woke up I asked him about it, he says, “Oh ya, I felt low after you left so I drank the juice.”  I told him he’s “GOT to wake me up in that situation…what if he kept dropping lower?? We could have a serious problem.”

His answer?  “I doubt that was going to happen.  I felt pretty hungry so I went to the kitchen and ate the rest of the taco shells.”

hahhaha!  I am sooooo glad he got up and took care of things.  He wasn’t technically ‘asleep’ but 3am sleepiness is pretty close to asleep.  I feel like he has a little more security going on now.

2 Responses

  1. Justice has never woke from a low. He feels em all day but not at night. So scary!! Good job on the taco shells C!

  2. It shouldn’t, but this totally makes me laugh. He’s so matter of fact about it all. Love it!

    Caleb never, ever, ever wakes up from a low. He might wake up to pee and feel the low, but I firmly believe he will not be woken up from one. I don’t think everyone is like that.

Leave a Reply

