Marble Slab

As I may have mentioned many times before, we go to RedBrick Pizza every week or two for their delicious gluten free pizza.

A few doors down from them is a Marble Slab Creamery.  A couple months ago I gave in and we stopped there for some dessert.  I explained C’s celiac disease.  I asked to see their ice cream ingredients, I asked them to use a clean scooper and I asked them not to mix C’s ice cream on the slab, just to put the toppings on top.  Like toppings.  They gave him an extra big bowl so he’d have room to mix his own gummy bears or sprinkles or whatever it was he had.

Since then, we’ve gone a few times.  Maybe 5 or 6?  It not always the same person working, I think we’ve come across two or three people.  The last time we went in something magical happened.   As I was about to order I noticed her walk over and grab a clean scoop, I didn’t think much of it.  Just thought it was time to grab a new one.  I ordered “one scoop bubble gum ice cream with gummy bears…”

She cut me off.  “Not on the slab, right?”

She remembered us!  Can you believe that?  It was so rad realizing that the more we go out, the safer C gets.  The more people we inform of his needs, the more people will help him.

2 Responses

  1. Made me smile!

  2. Thats awesome! Im just now seeing how hard it can be going out so I can imagine how thrilling that was!

Leave a Reply

