My Baby’s Growing Up!! Woohoo!

For the last two weeks, C’s been staying home alone while I go to work.  Believe me, this has been pretty scary for me, but it’s working.  Not only that, but it’s working better than him coming in to work with me.

When he’s at work, he sits.  All. Day. Long. in my office on a computer or reading.  And he’s snacking out of boredom. All. Day. Long.  His blood sugars are letting me know loud and clear that he should have more activity in his life.  His mood is telling me that he needs more stimulation than my small office (and Netflix) can offer.

I have alarms set, every two hours, on his phone to remind him to test and call me.  He’s been great.  He has strict orders to eat real-live meals and not snack on junk food all day.

Today I realized how independent he is and how proud I am of him.  I signed him up for a class at the community college for kids going into 7th and 8th grade.  It’s only for 4 day, 3 hours a day.  He started today.  I walked up to the teacher and said, “Hi,  I just wanted to let you know that my son, C, has type 1 diabetes.  You’ll notice him testing his blood sugar in class.  He also has water to drink and candy he may need to eat, would you like him to move somewhere else, away from the computer if he needs to eat or drink?”  He said, “That’ll be fine, did he bring me some candy, too?”  we laughed and I left.  I realized how much easier it was this year than the other times I’ve left him somewhere new.  The difference is the confidence I have in him.

3 Responses

  1. That’s awesome! 🙂 tear tear babies grownd up lol

  2. Complete and utter awesomeness!

  3. hiya! just found your blog and have read a few of your recent posts. i can totally relate to the need for more independence (my daughter is almost 12 and she was dx’d in august 2009). reading about your positive experiences makes me feel braver for us to give my daughter more independence as well. thanks for sharing.

    ps, congrats on your D.A.D., it sounds like an incredible resource!

Leave a Reply

